K-6 Online ESL Teacher - Part-Time Independent Contractor with VIPKID

K-6 Online ESL Teacher - Part-Time Independent Contractor with VIPKID

The Opportunity:

The future is here! Join a fast-growing community of elite educators who are teaching right from their home. As an independent contractor, you will be matched 1:1 with Chinese students on our secure virtual learning platform to teach English online. You can make your own schedule and use VIPKID resources to instruct - no lesson planning required!

This opportunity is for you if you have a strong teaching background, are energetic, engaging, and self-motivated. If you consider yourself a global educator and are excited about the use of technology to connect the world, then this is a match. Partner with us and help change the face of online learning.

About VIPKID
We have offices in Beijing, Shanghai, the Philippines, and San Francisco and have over 350,000 students and 40,000 teachers on the VIPKID platform. Founded in 2013, VIPKID has won several awards including Forbe's #1 Remote Job, Fast Company's Global Top 50 Most Innovative Company , the US-China Entrepreneurship Leader Award, etc. We have strategic partnerships with ETS, Coursera, and TESOL International, and are venture backed by top investors, such as Sequoia Capital, Tencent, Sinovation Ventures, Matrix Partners, ZhenFund, Northern Light Venture Capital, Yunfeng Capital, Learn Capital, Kobe Bryant’s fund - Bryant Stibel and ZTwo Capital.

We pride ourselves on giving Chinese children the North American elementary school experience.

The Work
- 1-on-1 online full immersion English language and content classes
- Curriculum based on the Common Core State Standards
- 25-minute highly engaging lessons

Requirements
- Exposure to the American or Canadian K-12 education system
- Minimum 1 year of teaching experience of any kind
- Bachelor’s degree
- Tech Requirements: Desktop or Laptop with a fast internet connection and audio/video capability

Opportunity Details

Contract type: Independent contractor
Contract term: 6-Months
Start date: Immediately
Hours: In order to maximize the number of classes scheduled, teachers are recommended to be available for at least 15 time slots per week (each time slot is 30 minutes) during Beijing peak times. The following hours tend to be the most requested time periods from our families: Monday-Sunday 6-10pm, and Saturday-Sunday 9am-10pm in Beijing time.

Here are the times converted to US time:

US Times Monday~Friday
Beijing 6pm ~10pm Saturday
Beijing 9am ~10pm Sunday
Beijing 9am ~10pm EST 6am ~ 10am Fri 9pm~Sat 10am Sat 9pm~Sun 10am
CST 5am ~ 9am Fri 8pm~Sat 9am Sat 8pm ~Sun 9am MST 4am ~ 8am Fri 7pm~Sat 8am Sat 7pm~Sun 8am PST 3am ~ 7am Fri 6pm~Sat 7am Sat 6pm~Sun 7am Hawaii 1am ~ 5am Fri 4pm~Sat 5am Sat 4pm~Sun 5am


Payment: Our teachers are paid according to the number of classes finished. The minimum service fee rate range is US$ 14-$18/hour. There are incentives for every lesson, so a typical service fee ranges between US$ 14-22/hour. This business opportunity is ideal for independent contractor teachers looking to supplement their income.

If you have any questions, please email teachvip@vipkid.com.cn.

Entry Level, Mid Level, Senior Level
Apply for Position
VIPKID
vipkid